Inaugural Sevastopol Athletic Hall of Fame inductees to be celebrated


Pictured is the new permanent display for the Pioneer Athletic Hall of Fame.

When you look at the history of Sevastopol, sports and athletics have always been a huge part of that. With blood, sweat, tears, and endless hours put into the athletic programs, athletic director Brooke Tanck felt there should be a way to celebrate and honor that. 

Tanck and the administration created the Sevastopol Athletic Hall of Fame to celebrate elite athletes at Sevastopol. This will be the inaugural class inductees.

“Sevastopol has a rich history of athletics,” Tanck said. “The reason for doing this was to celebrate our history. If we don’t celebrate and recognize it in some permanent form, we’ll forget about it.”

There are four categories: male/female athlete, coach, team, and volunteer or sports contributor.

The requirements to be nominated as an athlete include the following: you graduated from Sevastopol High school, you were competitive as an athlete, and you exhibited the core values of passion, hard work, integrity, and commitment. Athletes become eligible ten years after graduation.

Clayton Haen and Michelle Bushman have been inducted as individuals. 

As a coach, you have to have been involved with the same sports program for at least five years, and you have to have demonstrated a high level of success within that sporting success is not only based on wins and losses, though. You become eligible in the hall of fame five years after retirement as a coach.

Dan Hein and Cassie Cibik-Moeller have been inducted as coaches.

A team nominated into the hall of fame must have demonstrated high levels of achievement and success in their season. Like a coach, your team can be nominated five years after the most significant achievement. The 1955 wrestling team and the 1975 and 1976 basketball teams were inducted.

As a volunteer or sports contributor, you must have helped develop or support the athletics program somehow. Paula Symons has been inducted in the category of community supporter, administrator, business supporter, and medical professional. 

The 2022 Inaugural Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held on Friday, October 14, 2022, from 4:30 to 7:00 p.m. in the Pioneer Room. This is a private ceremony. However, the inductees will also be celebrated at the home football game against Gibraltar tonight.